Is There Something Wrong With Our Kids?

Ok, so yesterday I posted about my surprise at teenagers who don’t work.    And I’d posted about it on Facebook and was not surprised at the number of responses I received from friends of mine regarding the age when they started working, and that many of them actually enjoyed working as a teenager.

Then I received a response in an email from a friend of mine who is a manager in a business that relies on teenage help.   And this was her response:

It’s frustrating because (like your facebook post), kids don’t want to work. They don’t want to do a damn thing. They want to be paid, but no one wants to come in on Saturday. So it’s tough to find a good group that says they will show up on time each week…

So what I want to know is, what has gone wrong?   And for me, as a mother of two relatively young children, what can I do right moving forward so my kids don’t have this attitude?  If these were my teenagers, I think I’d be embarassed.

Until next time,

Lorelei

Leave a Reply

