Do Teenagers in the Suburbs Work?

Was just wondering, “Where do all of the teenagers in this city work?” Then realized, “OGM, they don’t work!” At what age did you start working? For me, I couldn’t wait til I turned 16 so that I could start working.

This thought came to me because, in our city, the little kids soccer games are all coached by volunteer parents, many of them reluctant to coach.    When I was growing up we had a huge rec dept. and all of the coaches for the various sports were paid teenagers.   So I was wondering, if they aren’t working at the rec center, where are they working?    And then I made the realization that, at least around here, I don’t think many of the teenagers work during high school.    At least not during the school year.

What are your thoughts?

Until next time,

Lorelei

2 Responses

  1. Nope, I don’t think they work. My soon to be 16 yo step-daughter expects a car to be given to her for her birthday…she lives in Aurora.

  2. […] so yesterday I posted about my surprise at teenagers who don’t work.    And I’d posted about it on Facebook and was not surprised at the number of responses I […]

Leave a Reply

