Wisest Thing My Mom Ever Said

The wisest, deepest thing my mom has ever said came out of her mouth a couple of days ago, her 68th birthday:

“With God, you never know what He’s going to do.”

The context is probably not what you are expecting.     As we were discussing being grateful that she survived breast cancer to see another birthday she said, “my little brother died in a fire on February 2nd and was buried on my birthday.   With God, you never know what He’s going to do.”

I found it so wise and deep that she would say this, that despite all of the awful things she’s lived through, she can say this with both pessimism and optimism and still have faith and pray to this God.   She’s not a woman of many words, but I hope to always keep these words from her with me.

Until next time,

Lorelei

One Response

  1. I wholeheartedly agree. God has been proving that to me so much over the last few years.
    Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

