Breastfeeding Sucks

I’ve been wanting to write this post for awhile now, but never found the time.    Of course, before writing it I Googled the topic because I wanted to see what others had to say.   You know breastfeeding has got to be hard when there is actually a book out there titled, “Breastfeeding Sucks.”   Looks like I book I should have read before the kiddo was born nearly 4 years ago!

I also found these two posts great:

I can’t believe how much I can relate to Finding Zen’s post…I’m glad I’m not the only one to cuss at a newborn in the middle of the night, and also not the only one to feel guilt over using nipple shields.    I have no idea how babies survived before formula or lactation consultants.   

When the kiddo was born, I went to a breastfeeding class because that’s what one of my baby books told me to do.   Yeah, didn’t help much.    About the fourth nurse who tried to help me get him to latch on while in the hospital was finally able to provide some real assistance and I thought we were good to go.     Fortunately, the pediatrician who saw us before we left the hospital asked how it was going.   I told her “great!”.     She, being an experienced mother, warned me that once she got home from the hospital she started having problems nursing, once her milk came in.    I made it through about a week or so when I could no longer take it anymore.    I had milk leaking everywhere, every time the kiddo latched on he’d come off right away screaming.    The hubby would try to squeeze milk out for the kiddo thinking nothing was coming out.   I found myself crying and telling the hubby I’d rather go through labor again than do this.  So he called the lactation consultant and set up an appointment for that day.

That woman was a saviour and the sole reason I was able to continue breastfeeding the kiddo and now the baby.    Apparently I had so much milk coming out so fast I was actually choking the kiddo (and subsequently the baby about two days after coming home from the hospital), so she gave me a nipple shield to try.    It worked wonders for the kiddo, so of course I used it with the baby as well with success for which I am extremely grateful.   

Four months later I am still nursing, though in that time the baby has now had two bottles of formula and a few bottles of expressed milk.    It just makes it easier to take the kiddo out to do things if I can just feed the baby a bottle, which takes about 5 minutes and I can do it while walking around!

But, I do have some breastfeeding advice that I hope to write in some subsequent posts.    That is, if I can find time between feedings!    Once I do, I’ll link to them here.

Until next time,

Lorelei

Leave a Reply

