First Six Months as SAHM

Everyone asks me how I like being a stay-at-home mom.  Ironically, since I stopped working I seem to have less time to blog, rather than more, as evidenced by my serious lack of blogging lately.   My typical answer to people is, “I’m finally getting around to living the life I’ve been missing out on the past couple of years.” 

Point  being, for the past couple of years, between the hubby and I and our now three year-old, we were so busy working full-time plus, that I didn’t feel we had time to do anything fun even on the weekends, nor did I feel we were accomplishing anything in our personal lives either.   The hubby had an hour-long commute each way daily, plus sometimes on weekends with 10-hour shifts.  By the time I got kiddo to and from daycare and got to and from work, my own commute was about an hour as well.   At first when I resigned, I think the hubby was concerned I’d sit on the couch eating bon-bons all day long.   But now he admits he can’t imagine getting through this past year if I’d been working full-time.

How I spent the first six months of being a stay-at-home-mom:

  • My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer earlier this year and had the lump removed, and I’ve been able to take her to several of her appointments and meet with her doctors (fortunately it was Stage 1 and requires no chemo).  
  • Hubby has lost both of his grandmother’s this summer.  Both lived in LA, so it was nice for us to all be able to up and leave to go out there when we needed to.
  • Spent 3 weeks in Hawaii for hubby’s work immediately after I resigned, 10 days out in San Diego and LA with hubby’s family at the beginning of July
  • Managed to sell our old house myself without using a realtor, including stripping and painting garage doors, basement walls and generally fixing up the place
  • Plus of course finding a new house and moving into it
  • Finding a preschool for the kiddo that’s close to “home”…about 5 months before knowing exactly where that home was going to be
  • And, last but not least, we’re expecting another baby in March of next year!   

I guess I just can’t imagine trying to do all of this and work full-time too.   I’m blessed to have the luxury of this choice, as I know many people do all of this and more while working full-time.

Anyhow, I felt like I should write about what I’ve been up to.    Some of the fun things we’ve done recently with the kiddo include Rosby’s Raspberry Farm and Luther’s Farm, plus checking out the new Dinosaurs exhibit at the Cleveland Museum of Natural History.    Next week we’re really lookign forward to taking the kiddo out to Great Wolf Lodge for a night.

What fun things are you doing this fall?

Until next time,

Lorelei

One Response

  1. Congratulations on your pregnancy! And selling the house! I’m running behind on my blog reads, but I’m glad to hear you are doing well and enjoying this life at home.
    By the way, by what I understand, you can keep up your physical activity while pregnant, but you may have to modify the type of activity (but yeah, I’ve heard the wii fit thing is quite the deterrent. I think people should have the choice).

Leave a Reply

