Hastily Made Cleveland Tourism Videos

Positively Cleveland, the city’s Convention and Visitors Bureau, is running a Hastily Made Cleveland Tourism Video Contest on YouTube.   Two great videos, created by two awesome Cleveland lady bloggers, are below.   Check out all of the entries and leave comments for your faves at:

http://www.youtube.com/groups_videos?name=hastilymadecontest

And while we’re at it, a significant percentage (I’ll try to get a real estimate) of visitors to Cleveland are those categorized as “VFR”, meaning, visiting friends and relatives. I have to admit, the majority of vacations I go on, fall into this category, and especially in Cleveland this comes as no surprise to me. I’d thought of making my own Hastily Made video, related to the places we take our friends and relatives when they visit, but just don’t have the time. So, if you have a moment, leave a comment below about your fave places to take visiting friends and relatives, or a story about your favorite memory of these experiences.

My personal faves have been the West Side Market and Cleveland Botanical Garden, plus dining at a great number of places. Places I am really looking forward to taking out-of-towners (read: my in-laws from NJ, just outside of NYC), are Amish Country, some of the many wineries, the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, the presidential museums, and the Lake Erie Islands/Sandusky/Put-In-Bay area.

Looking forward to hearing yours!

Until next time,

Lorelei

7 Responses

  1. Hilarious! Let’s all go to Cleveland!!!

  2. There are a few more family-oriented videos up now, so check them out. Only two more days of voting to get down to the final 5!

    • Hey Sam, do you know the estimated percentage of VFR to Cuyahoga County each year? It came up in a conversation I was having with one of my neighbors, whose parents happened to be in town visiting from Seattle.

  3. Hey, folks! I’m not a Cleveland mom, but my cousin and I made a video for the contest so I thought I’d leave a link on this post! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Q0-G7rOGMM

    I always take out-of-towners to Great Lakes Brewing or Bar Cento. Last time a friend came into town from Pittsburgh I directed him to the Burner River Roller Girls roller derby and he loved it!

    We have so much to be proud of in Cleveland.

  4. Awww…. I didn’t realize you put my video up. Many thanks Cleveland Mom.

Leave a Reply

