Your Best Recipe

Now that I am a SAHM, I have more time to cook regularly.  I think the hubby is beginning to miss take-out, and I am beginning to long for new recipes to try.   So, since I know there are some lovely people reading this that must have something yummy to cook, I want you to share your best/favorite recipe in the comments section below.  If you do, I’ll repost and include a link to your blog.  Many of my fave recipes are already linked to in the sidebar.

Until next time,

Lorelei

4 Responses

  1. Hahaha…I only have “secret family recipes.” No posting allowed! ; ) I’ll call you with them later…Hahaha!

  2. Hi there,
    Here are a few web sites that I like to search:
    kraftfoods.com
    http://www.landolakes.com/mealideas/
    http://lipsmackinggoodness.blogspot.com/
    http://kissmyartichoke.wordpress.com/

    And One of my favorite things to cook is Sweet Potatoes – Line a baking sheet with parchment, set the oven to 400 degrees, wash the sweet potato, and cut into 1/2 inch slices. Brush with olive oil, and lightly salt, place on baking sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes.

    You can serve them as a side dish, or turn them into sweet potato gnocci – here is the web site that inspired me on this recipe:
    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2009/01/sweet_potato_gnocchi_the_good_th.html

    We also discovered spices. Penzy spice

  3. Hey! Our favorite dinners are super easy:
    – chili
    -pot roast in crock pot with 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1.25 cups water, 1 packet onion soup mix all mixed together and poured on top. Make with mashed potatoes and veggies.

    Favorite dinner by far:
    – Italian seasoned panko crusted tilapia (dredge each filet in egg, then flour, and finally panko). Heat oil and some crushed garlic, saute for 2 min, then add fish and cook until flaky (about 6 min per side).
    – make rice or couscous ( if you substitute chicken stock for the water it has a lot more flavor!)
    – make sauteed spinach: heat 2-4 tbs oil and 2 tbs butter and melt over high heat, sauté garlic and onions/mushrooms until soft. Lower heat to medium and add 1 lb fresh spinach. It takes a few minutes to cook down but then it’s done! So good! I make this 2-3 times a month.

    Also, I use allrecipes.com a lot and always look at the comments/recommendations.

  4. I have several recipes on my blog: http://nurturingnotes.blogspot.com/search/label/recipes

    Recently, I added recipes for flour tortillas and salsa. I need to add guacamole sometime in the near future. You can have a cheap, tasty Mexican-style meal that isn’t very time consuming (even if you don’t make the tortillas yourself). A lot of this can be made ahead of time too.
    I recently tried the orange-scented chicken on a turkey breast. It was even better that way.
    I also use the pizza dough recipe from Tyler Florence (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/pizza-dough-recipe/index.html). I have made the dough with a mixer, bread machine and by hand. It works very well (but I use bread flour, not all purpose). Again, you can make the dough ahead of time so it can really work with your schedule.
    When you do these take-out style foods at home, you can save your money for going out somewhere really nice.

    And it’s getting warmer… a lot can be done on the grill.

Leave a Reply

