Brown Sugar Trick

I know it is silly, but I am super excited about the fact that this old trick I recall learning a very long time ago actually worked.  Last week I was making some ribs in the oven and I use a dry rub on them.  So I needed some brown sugar.  My brown sugar always inevitably turns rock solid in my cupboard, resulting in my pitching it in the garbage.  But this time, I remembered someone telling me to stick a piece of bread in the bag, seal it up, and let it sit for a couple of days.  A few weeks ago I had done so and then forgot about it.  Last week, when I went to make the ribs, I pulled out the bag of brown sugar and– it was all nice and soft and usable again!!!

It’s these small victories that sometimes make my day.   That same day, I accomplished cleaning my gutters (as my neighbor kept an eye out for me) so another small task comes off from my honey-do list. 

Next small bit of knowledge I’m interested to try out– does dry ice really work for drawing out small dents from a car?  I remember learning this from a science teacher in Jr. High and have been talking about trying this out with another neighbor of mine.  If it works, I’ll let you know!

Until next time,

Lorelei

Leave a Reply

