Still Blessed

A few weeks ago I’d written about how ridiculously blessed I was feeling.  And also that I always had a fear at times like that where it was inevitable that something bad was going to happen.  Well, life does go on, and among other concerns that have come up since writing that post, the worst is that a week ago my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer.   Fortunately, the lump was found early, and we’re hoping that the treatment required will be minimal.  We are still blessed, to have the medical treatments available to both find something like this early on (MetroHealth is an incredible hospital, offering detection and treatment for those who can’t afford it otherwise), and the treatments to help cure it.

As I was thinking about the past couple of months, two different phrases, from one of my favorite poems, Rudyard Kipling’s, “If”, and one from the Bible.

If you can meet with triumph and disaster
And treat those two imposters just the same

-Rudyard Kipling

 

Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.

-Job 1:21

Actually, I had to look up the “Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away” verse, because I was actually thinking about it from a song we sang in church this last Sunday, “Blessed be the Name of the Lord.”   There’s a good blogpost that gets to the heart of the Bible verse here.

The lyrics to that song always get me whenever we sing it in church, because it is a very upbeat song.  So I often wonder how much we pay attention to the lyrics.  To me, it’s one of the more challenging songs of my faith.  For example, here are some verses:

Blessed be Your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s ‘all as it should be’
Blessed be Your name

Blessed be Your name
On the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

The full lyrics can be found here.

I remember singing this in church as I was going through my, “what if I go under during my gall bladder surgery and don’t wake up?” phase, and then now, thinking about trusting God through everything.  The thing that allows me to say “Blessed be the Name of the Lord” through good and bad is that He is the one constant that I have.  Blessed be His Name, because despite circumstances changing, as they most certainly do, He doesn’t change, not now or ever.   Circumstances happen, but how does God affect my/our reactions and attitudes to those circumstances?

Until next time,

Lorelei

3 Responses

  1. Lorelei,

    I am so sorry to hear about your mom’s diagnosis. I still consider the day five years ago when my mom was diagnosed with brain cancer as the worst day in my life. I remember it vividly and still break down at times thinking about it.

    But your faith in God will get you thru it. And it will help you support your mom. She’s going to need you more than ever now.

    Stay strong!

    I’ll say a prayer for all of you tonight!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words, I can’t even begin to imagine how hard it would be to learn that a loved one had brain cancer.

      My dad passed away when I was 14, a year or so after having to go through a very rough schedule of radiation treatments for prostate cancer, thank goodness medicine has improved since then. But, I know how hard it can be to deal with these memories several years later, it was probably around the ten year mark when I started to be able to think about the subject without breaking down. I have hope that my mom won’t have to go such a severe level of treatment.

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your mom. My Aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer a few months ago. She actually started a blog about everything she has been going through. It might be a good read for you and your mom. http://www.savedinbrooklyn.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

