Happy New Year, Part II

I began to write about this here, but on Friday I submitted my resignation.  The majority of our staff were out on vacation, so I didn’t want to write about this until I had the opportunity to tell those people who I wanted to find out directly from me, and not from any other source.  And now, I’ve managed to do so.

These last two weeks will be bittersweet.   The toddler is at a point where I feel it necessary to spend more time with him.   He picks up information so quickly now, he’s like a little sponge.   It is truly amazing.   At no other time in his life will he be quite like this, and at no other time in our lives will I have two and a half years to spend time dedicated to him before he starts school.  I am so looking forward to spending more time with him.

I’ve been at the same company for eight years now, in one capacity or another.  And for all intents and purposes, it’s been a dream job for me, doing those things I have been interested in since childhood.   It has helped to support the hubby and I, and now our family, through the hubby’s five years of residency and a year of fellowship.    And now we are blessed to have the financial security that allows me to reinvent and refocus my energy.    I’ve been fortunate to have managed a level of work-life balance for two and a half years, and now I find that I can no longer sustain such a routine.   I feel as though my house is in disarray, needing some intervention from HGTV.   There is so much work that needs to be done around our house, and not only do we not have time to do this work, we don’t even have the time to find someone to pay to do the work for us.  

So, I look forward to leaving at the end of the month for a three week vacation in Hawaii, and returning with a new focus and purpose.  And a chance to reinvent my life once more.

Here’s to a new years resolution that’s taken much contemplation and has been months in the making.   I am confident in my decision, but melancholy at the path I will be leaving, and anxious about that place in between then and now, leaving the comfort zone I’ve developed over the past eight years, and a little guilty even, for I know that many don’t have the same opportunity.  

I have a feeling it’s going to be an emotional two weeks…

Until next time,

Lorelei

6 Responses

  1. It is never an easy decision, but it is wonderful you were able to take this opportunity. Enjoy the next two weeks, your vacation, and then don’t come back to try and tackle everything you can all at once. It may take a while to get used to being with your child 24/7 and fitting everything else in between. You certainly can do it, but it is a shift in what you’ve been doing for a while. It may take some time to adjust that’s all.
    And I’ll let you know if I go to any of these events. I do go to the Heights Parent Center pretty frequently. It is great for kids that age.

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement Renata. It is nice to hear the perspective of someone who’s gone through this before. And I do intend to enjoy my vacation, I think that everything happens for a reason, and that the timing was right to finally do this.

  2. Blessings to you for this courageous and wise decision. Your little guy will be that much more strong, secure, well adjusted and directed with your values, not those of someone else. While it is a sacrifice for the moment of your professional life, it is a long term blessing to your son.

    When you are in hawaii look up a restaurant (they are on most of the islands) called Roy’s
    http://www.roysrestaurant.com/
    The meal is always amazing, the service beyond compare, and a very romantic evening out. If you are in Oahu – his restaurant is in Hawaii Kai, just a 20 minute drive from Waikiki beach.

    Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.
    Psalm 127:2-4

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! And, though I haven’t yet been to Roy’s, I had it on our agenda for this visit to Hawaii! Have you been to the one that’s in Waikiki? Do you have a preference for the one in Hawaii Kai or the one in Waikiki? I love restaurant recommendations, so if you have any more, feel free to share.

  3. Lori,

    My how you have matured since i first met u as BW students…. You were bright then and even more so now– professionally, wife and mom… Having maintained ur sprit…

    Congrats and continued best wishes..

    • Thanks Glen! And you’re typing style hasn’t changed either. 😉 I’m so glad we’ve kept in touch all of these years, and very much appreciate the guidance you offered to me on my first experiences in the office world. It’s proved to be invaluable and I’ll be forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

