I’m Getting Old

I remember when I was growing-up and our family got our first microwave.

We didn’t have a CD player in our house until I was high school.

I didn’t have an email address until I was 17 years old.

I didn’t have a cell phone until I was 20.

We FINALLY got a DVD player when I decided to buy the hubby and XBOX just so that I would have a DVD player.

We still own a VCR, and the tapes that play in one.

My first car had a tape deck and no power locks or power windows.  In order to open the sunroof you had to take the glass panel out.

I had a Nintendo with one game, Super Mario Bros.

I went to the mall to go shopping, not to GAP.com or Amazon.com or Target.com

I didn’t have cable (I still don’t)

I remember when MTV was new and cool and played music videos.

Since I didn’t have cable, or MTV, I remember staying up after David Letterman to watch “Friday Night Videos”

And I remember the original Knight Rider.

So sad.

One Response

  1. Heck.. I just got my first cell phone about 2 years ago and I am 30! I don’t understand why all of these kids who are about 8 years old need their own cell phone!

    I remember the good old days when I didn’t even have a remote for my tv… that sucked! Or before microwavable popcorn when you had to over over a stove sifting the popcorn tin back and forth.

    And what about the days when your folks would tell you “go play in the streets and don’t come home until the street lights come on” Now a days, I don’t even think kids KNOW how to entertain themselves without some sort of technological gadet

Leave a Reply

