Cleveland in National Sustainability Rankings

Just read a great blogpost at Local Food Cleveland regarding the city of Cleveland’s #1 ranking in the categories of local food/agriculture and water supply.   I think it’s fantastic that locals are starting to embrace the trend of gardening and making purchases from farmer’s markets, taking advantage of the benefits of our great location.   Looks like we’re tied with Chicago and Milwaukee for water supply.

Cleveland also ranked 1st in Metro Street Congestion, 3rd for natural disaster risk and 8th for having a green economy.   More results can be found here.

I was a bit surprised that Cleveland ranked 22nd for affordable housing.   I am apparently more clueless than I realize, though the data uses average housing prices and average income levels to come to this conclusion.  

Anyhow, if you can’t find a local farmer’s market, I highly recommend checking out the West Side Market some Saturday morning soon to do your groceyr shopping for the week.   It amazes me how many people in the Cleveland area have never been there.  Then again, my first trip there was only about 3 years ago.  I have yet to try the Gyros there, but I am told they are the best in the city…and I’ve had some pretty good Gyros around this city.

Until next time,

Lorelei

Leave a Reply

