Cleveland Restaurant with the Best View

View from Pier W

View from Pier W

Ok, so it’s technically in Lakewood, but it’s four blocks or so from the Cleveland border, so I’m calling it a Cleveland restaurant.   Tonight the hubby and I went to Pier W to celebrate our eighth wedding anniversary.    We try to go there once a year to celebrate special occasions as that was the restaurant where the hubby took me the night he proposed.   We also try to go there once a year because it is consistently good and the view is great.

The restaurant was remodeled about two years ago, updated to a more modern look.   While the hubby and I miss the retro nautical theme of the old restaurant, they did a fantastic job updating it.     The building juts out from a cliff along Lake Erie, over the water with floor-to-ceiling windows surrounding the dining room offering views of downtown Cleveland.    Our reservations were at 7:30, so by the time we finished our meal we were given a view of the city all lit up.    My favorite meal there, which I believe is the same meal I’ve had there for the past seven years in a row, is surf and turf with filet mignon and lobster tails.     The only other meal I’ve had there was Mahi Mahi the night that we got engaged, which is an interesting story in an of itself.    I knew what was he was going to do, so at dinner I asked him not to propose at the restaurant because I didn’t want to cry in public, so he proposed in my college dorm room later that night.   Had he asked me to marry him in the summertime it would have been nice to propose outside on the patio that overlooks the water and the city, but we got engaged in January, so I suppose it might have been a little too cold for that!

Anyhow, I always get filet and lobster because, at Pier W I know it will always be good.     And who wants to spend $56 for dry filet and broiled, over-cooked lobster tails?    Sometimes consistency is a great thing.      I unfortunately had a poor filet and lobster experience earlier this year at a different local upscale restaurant (we’re not talking Outback here), which is really too bad, now I know better.

The hubby had a pasta dish with pappardelle and lobster which was equally delicious in a heavy cream sauce, plus we shared some fish tacos and calamari as appetizers.     The hubby was amazed at the yummy fish tacos, with a delicate fried wonton for the shell, avocado and salsa and the calamari could have been a meal itself there was so much of it.   I enjoyed a glass of Tocai Friulano, an Italian white related to Sauvignon Blanc, which the waitress informed me was the same wine served when the Pope visitied NYC recently.    I don’t know much about wine, but the name sounded interesting and I wanted to try something different.   It was good and I’d definitely get it again.

We finished our meal with a dessert called the Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bomb…apparently I’m pretty predictable because the hubby was chuckling and told me he figured that was what I’d order, I’m a sucker for anything with chocolate and peanut butter.   It was an interesting and non-traditional kind of dessert, served on a long plate with a tiny scoop of caramel/cinnamon ice cream, some peanut butter cream and crushed peanut brittle, two marshmallow puffs and a pyramid that resembled a cross between flourless chocolate cake and mousse with a chunk of peanut butter in the middle.  It was a perfect end to a great meal, complete with a little “Happy Anniversary” banner embedded in the top of the dessert.    I think the hubby was surprised, he hadn’t realized I mentioned it was our wedding anniversary when I made the reservations.

We went outside and took some pictures of the nighttime skyline across the water and still made it home in time to say goodnight to the toddler and head to bed ourselves.   And of course, it was a beautiful night as well!

Until next time,

Lorelei
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Leave a Reply

